top of page

After eight rounds of voting, Vanuatu elects new president

Nikenike Vurobaravu has been voted the 12th President of the Republic of Vanuatu.

It took eight rounds of voting by the 58-member Electoral College before he secured the required minimum number of 38 on Saturday afternoon.

In the end he got a resounding 47 votes, after the Prime Minister, Bob Loughman, reached a deal with the nine MPs of the coalition party led by former prime minister, Charlot Salwai.

Read more via the link HERE

5 views0 comments


bottom of page